Ton up for Ribbans while Waller breaks premiership record against Wasps

Member News

Director of Rugby Chris Boyd has named his Northampton Saints side to take on Wasps on Sunday – with David Ribbans celebrating a century of appearances in Black,
Green and Gold, while Alex Waller breaks the Gallagher Premiership appearance record for a prop.

The 32-year-old loosehead will make his 231st league appearance in the clash at cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens, moving past Duncan Bell on the all-time
list to become the leading prop forward in Premiership history.

Ribbans meanwhile earns his 100th Saints cap in the second row, becoming the Club’s 216th centurion in the process.

Fraser Dingwall will lead out Northampton for the sixth match running, with Rory Hutchinson named in Saints’ midfield alongside him and George Furbank
returning from international duty to slot in at fullback.

Wings Courtnall Skosan and Tom Collins continue in the back three, while Boyd opts for a half-back duo of Alex Mitchell and James Grayson.

Waller and Ribbans headline the pack on their milestone appearances for the Club, with Paul Hill returning to the front row at tighthead prop to join Fiji
hooker Sam Matavesi.

Ribbans and Api Ratuniyarawa continue their extended run together in Northampton’s engine room, while Saints are boosted by the return of Teimana Harrison from
injury in the back row – the flanker lines up alongside Alex Coles and No.8 Juarno Augustus to round off the starting XV.

Meanwhile, amongst the replacements, wing Ollie Sleightholme returns to the matchday 23 and will look to make an impact off the bench alongside the likes of Piers
Francis, Tom James and Brandon Nansen.


Gallagher Premiership Rugby, Round 20

Sunday 13 March 2022

cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens

Kick-off: 3pm

15 George Furbank

14 Courtnall Skosan

13 Fraser Dingwall (c)

12 Rory Hutchinson

11 Tom Collins

10 James Grayson

9 Alex Mitchell

1 Alex Waller

2 Sam Matavesi

3 Paul Hill

4 David Ribbans

5 Api Ratuniyarawa

6 Alex Coles

7 Teimana Harrison

8 Juarno Augustus


16 Mike Haywood

17 Emmanuel Iyogun

18 Conor Carey

19 Brandon Nansen

20 JJ Tonks

21 Tom James

22 Piers Francis

23 Ollie Sleightholme

considered for selection:

Matthew Arden, Emeka Atuanya, Jake Garside, Karl Garside, Oisín Heffernan,
Lewis Ludlam, Taqele Naiyaravoro, Ehren Painter, Matt Proctor, Kayde
Sylvester, Karl Wilkins and Tom Wood.

International duty:

Dan Biggar (Wal), Ethan Grayson (Eng U20), George Hendy (Eng U20), Courtney Lawes
(Eng), Tom Lockett (Eng U20)

Referee: Wayne Barnes

Assistant referees: Nick Wood and Jamie Leahy

No.4: Darryl Chapman

TMO: Claire Hodnett