Three changes for Saints as they travel to Wasps

Member News

Director of Rugby Chris Boyd has made three changes to his Northampton Saints starting line-up ahead of the side’s trip to Wasps this Sunday. 

British & Irish Lion Courtney Lawes comes into the side in the back row to make his first start of the season, and Tommy Freeman also makes his first start of the campaign on the right wing, while David Ribbans recovers from the illness that kept him out of last weekend’s match. 

After a last-minute victory over London Irish saw Northampton go three from three in their opening matches, Saints head to Coventry hoping to win their first four matches of a Gallagher Premiership season for only the second time in the Club’s history (2012/13).

And Saints’ record at Wasps has been full of exciting clashes in recent years; the men in Black, Green and Gold have won three of the last four outings to Coventry in all tournaments by five points or less, and with both sides in a good run of form, Sunday’s clash (kick-off: 3pm) is sure to be another nail-biter.

George Furbank and Ollie Sleightholme stay on at fullback and left wing respectively this weekend, while Freeman comes into the starting line-up to complete the back three. 

Saints remain unchanged through the rest of the backs, with Fraser Dingwall and Matt Proctor continuing in the centres and Dan Biggar once again partnering Alex Mitchell in the half-back berths. 

Northampton also name a largely unchanged tight five; Nick Auterac, Sam Matavesi and Paul Hill make up the front row for the second week running, while Ribbans returns to man the engine room with Api Ratuniyarawa. 

Lawes’ inclusion provides the only other change to Saints’ forward pack, with the 243-time Saint coming into the starting line-up to join captain Lewis Ludlam and No. 8 Juarno Augustus in the back row.

And with Mikey Haywood, Teimana Harrison and Rory Hutchinson all set to enter the game from the bench, Saints’ replacements will be looking to make an impact in Coventry. 


Gallagher Premiership Rugby, Round 4

Sunday 10 October 2021

Coventry Building Society Arena

Kick-off: 3pm

15 George Furbank

14 Tommy Freeman

13 Matt Proctor

12 Fraser Dingwall

11 Ollie Sleightholme

10 Dan Biggar

9 Alex Mitchell

1 Nick Auterac

2 Sam Matavesi

3 Paul Hill

4 David Ribbans

5 Api Ratuniyarawa

6 Courtney Lawes

7 Lewis Ludlam (capt)

8 Juarno Augustus


16 Mikey Haywood

17 Alex Waller

18 Ehren Painter

19 Alex Coles

20 Teimana Harrison

21 Frank Lomani

22 Rory Hutchinson

23 Alex Moon

Not considered for selection:

Matthew Arden, Callum Burns, Oisín Heffernan, Dani Long-Martinez, Taqele Naiyaravoro, Ollie Newman, and JJ Tonks.

Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys

Assistant referees: Greg Macdonald and Jonathan Healy

No.4: Peter Allan/Neil Chivers

TMO: Rowan Kitt