Saints to take on Ospreys with 26-man squad for preseason clash

Member News

Director of Rugby Chris Boyd has named a 26-man Northampton Saints squad for this evening’s preseason clash against Ospreys at Franklin’s Gardens.

It will be the first time in over 18 months the Men in Black, Green and Gold will run out in front of an unrestricted home crowd on home soil –– tickets for the match are still available to buy for just £15 (adult) or £5 (child).

Saints lock horns with the Welsh region in what will be their second and final fixture of preseason, ahead of next weekend’s Gallagher Premiership opener against Gloucester Rugby.

Boyd makes a raft of changes from the side that started last Friday’s 40-21 victory at Bedford Blues, but Club captain Lewis Ludlam keeps his place at flanker and will lead out Northampton at the Gardens.

He is joined in the back row by Teimana Harrison and No.8 Juarno Augustus – the summer signing making his first-ever home Saints appearance.

Alex Waller starts at loosehead prop for the hosts after coming off the bench last week, with hooker Sam Matavesi and tighthead Paul Hill both making their first appearances of preseason in the front row, while Alex Moon and Api Ratuniyarawa round off the pack in the engine room.

George Furbank continues at fly-half for Northampton but is partnered by scrum-half Connor Tupai, who impressed in Bedford colours last week.

Fraser Dingwall and Matt Proctor line up together in the centres, with Tom Collins and Tom Litchfield – who both got on the scoresheet at Goldington Road – on the wings and Ahsee Tuala rounding off the back three.

Boyd opts for a mix of youth and experience amongst the replacements again this week, with the likes of Tom Wood, Alex Mitchell, James Grayson, and Rory Hutchinson all set to come off the bench for Saints.

Tickets for the match are still available to purchase from, while for those supporters unable to attend, this evening’s game will be streamed live via SaintsTV.


Preseason Friendly

Friday 10 September 2021

Franklin’s Gardens

Kick-off: 7.30pm

15 Ahsee Tuala

14 Tom Litchfield

13 Matt Proctor

12 Fraser Dingwall

11 Tom Collins

10 George Furbank

9 Connor Tupai

1 Alex Waller

2 Sam Matavesi

3 Paul Hill

4 Alex Moon

5 Api Ratuniyarawa

6 Lewis Ludlam (capt)

7 Teimana Harrison

8 Juarno Augustus


Nick Auterac

Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi

James Fish

Ehren Painter

Karl Garside

Tom Wood

Geordie Irvine

Alex Mitchell

James Grayson

Rory Hutchinson

George Hendy