Biggar to bring up half century of Saints appearances against Worcester

Member News

Fly-half Dan Biggar will make his 50th appearance for Northampton Saints on Friday evening as the men in Black, Green and Gold lock horns with Worcester Warriors.

The hosts make four changes to the starting XV in total from the side that faced Wasps a fortnight ago, with Director of Rugby Chris Boyd also handing a Club debut to wing Courtnall Skosan after the Springbok’s arrival from the Lions.

Saints will be looking to build on their superb home record against Worcester in the Gallagher Premiership, having won the last 11 times the sides have met at cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens – a run stretching back to January 2007.

Wales and British & Irish Lions international Biggar starts in the No.10 jersey for the third straight match for Saints, notching up his 50th Club appearance in the process.

Scrum-half Alex Mitchell also celebrates a milestone on this 50th Premiership appearance, while Rory Hutchinson returns to Northampton’s midfield to partner Fraser Dingwall with Matt Proctor ruled out through injury.

Skosan makes his first Saints appearance in the only other change to the hosts’ backline, with Tommy Freeman – who celebrated his first senior England call-up this week – starting at fullback and Ollie Sleightholme on the other wing.

Flanker Lewis Ludlam will skipper Northampton with Teimana Harrison returning to the No.8 jersey and Courtney Lawes rounding off the back row.

Meanwhile David Ribbans and Api Ratuniyarawa continue their partnership in the engine room, and one change in the front row sees Alex Waller join Sam Matavesi and Paul Hill to round off the pack.

Saints opt for a six-two split on the bench for Friday’s clash, with Emmanuel Iyogun and Piers Francis both primed for their first appearances of the season if they enter the action.


Gallagher Premiership Rugby, Round 6

Friday 22 October 2021

cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens

Kick-off: 7.45pm

15 Tommy Freeman

14 Ollie Sleightholme

13 Fraser Dingwall

12 Rory Hutchinson

11 Courtnall Skosan

10 Dan Biggar

9 Alex Mitchell

1 Alex Waller

2 Sam Matavesi

3 Paul Hill

4 David Ribbans

5 Api Ratuniyarawa

6 Courtney Lawes

7 Lewis Ludlam (c)

8 Teimana Harrison


16 Mike Haywood

17 Emmanuel Iyogun

18 Ehren Painter

19 Tom Wood

20 Juarno Augustus

21 Frank Lomani

22 Piers Francis

23 Alex Coles

Not considered for selection:

Matthew Arden, Callum Burns, George Furbank, Oisín Heffernan, Dani Long-Martinez, Ollie Newman, Matt Proctor and JJ Tonks.

Referee: Ian Tempest

Assistant referees: Karl Dickson and Christophe Ridley

No.4: Simon Harding

TMO: Adam Leal